Wednesday, February 28

Sulom Polls Aspirants To Undergo Scrutiny

The nominations window for the forthcoming Super League of Malawi (Sulom) elections closed Friday and almost all aspirants that had expressed interest to vie for various positions have been nominated to potential candidates.

However, forms for nominated aspirants will undergo scrutiny today, before Crowe Horwath Malawi, an auditing firm hired to manage the elections, releases names of eligible candidates tomorrow.

The firm’s director Chifundo Makande said the full list of candidates that have been nominated to contest for positions at Sulom will be released after the institution finishes verification process.

“I cannot disclose much as some teams are still submitting nominations. At this stage we are going to go through the nominations to determine their [candidates] eligibility to contest.

“Among others we will check if the nominated official does not have a criminal offence for the previous seven years and also if the aspirant has been in active football association for a period of five years and is above 24 years,” he said.

Makande said the firm will not release information regarding how many nominations each candidate received.

“This is campaign period and doing so might harm others. Let all the candidates campaign freely. On our part, we want to level the playing field,” he said.

According to the information we have seen, Sulom President Tiya Somba Banda will face Nyasa Big Bullets Vice President Fleetwood Haiya and former Silver Striker’s general secretary Mike Tembo.

Incumbent Vice President Major Gilbert Mitawa and former Wanderers general secretary David Kanyenda have also been nominated to face-off for the vice presidency.

The battle for the General Secretary post will attract incumbent Williams Banda and former Silver Strikers chief executive officer Thokozani Chimbali.

Sulom Treasurer Malinda Chinyama has been nominated and will be up against Ali Mwachande.

Others that have been nominated for various positions include Vice General Secretary Major Fulawo Mwale, Solomon Mchawi (legal adviser) and executive members Daudi Ntanthiko, Charles Manyungwa, Chimwemwe Nyirenda, Henz Banda, Ronald Chiwaula, Godfrey Makawano and Williams Nhlane.

Those contesting for the presidency are supposed to pay K200,000 each whereas candidates for other positions must pay K150,000 each.

Those contesting for executive member posts will pay K100,000 each.

Sulom will hold its elective annual general meeting on February 25 in Mangochi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *