Saturday, April 13

Full List Of New Cabinet Ministers

President Lazarus Chakwera has in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 94(1) of the Constitution appointed a new Cabinet as follows:

  1. President of the Republic of Malawi, Commander-in-Chief of the Malawi
    Defence Force, His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera.
  2. Vice President of the Republic of Malawi, Right Honourable Dr. Saulos Klaus
  3. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Hon. Sosten Gwengwe, MP.
  4. Minister of Foreign Affairs – Hon. Nancy Tembo, MP.
  5. Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Sam Kawale, MP.
  6. Minister of Natural Resources and Climate Change – Hon. Michael Usi.
  7. Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture – Hon. Richard
    Chimwendo Banda, MP.
  8. Minister of Justice – Hon. Titus Mvalo.
  9. Minister of Homeland Security – Hon. Dr. Ken Zikhale Ng’oma, MP.
    10.Minister of Health – Hon. Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, MP.
    11.Minister of Trade and Industry – Hon. Simplex Chithyola, MP.
    12.Minister of Youth and Sports – Hon. Uchizi Mkandawire, MP.
    13.Minister of Education – Hon. Madalitso Wirima Kambauwa, MP.
    14.Minister of Transport and Public Works – Hon. Jacob Hara, MP.
    15.Minister of Mining – Hon. Monica Chang’anamuno, MP.
    16.Minister of Tourism – Hon. Vera Kamtukule.
    17.Minister of Gender – Hon Jean Muonaowauza Sendeza, MP.
    18.Minister of Labour – Hon. Agnes Makonda Nyalonje.
    19.Minister of Defence – Hon. Harry Mkandawire.
    20.Minister of Water and Sanitation – Hon. Abida Mia, MP.
    21.Minister of Energy – Hon. Ibrahim Matola.
    22.Minister of Lands – Hon. Deus Gumba, MP.
    23.Minister of Information – Hon. Moses Kumkuyu.
    24.Deputy Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture – Hon. Owen
    Chomanika, MP.
    25.Deputy Minister of Health – Hon. Halima Alima Daud, MP.
    26.Deputy Minister of Education – Hon. Nancy Chaola Mdooko, MP.
    27.Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation – Hon. Liana Kakhobwe Chapota,
    The appointments are with effect from 31st January 2023, according to a statement.

New faces in the cabinet include Zikhale Ng’oma, Uchizi Mkandawire and Moses Kumkuyu.

Those retained include Gwengwe, Abida Mia, Sam Kawale, Mvalo, Khumbize, Nancy, Hara, Matola and elevated Harry Mkandawire.

Those fired are Gospel Kazako, Timothy Mtambo, Dr Albert Mbawala, Mark Katsonga Phiri, Blessings Chimsinga, Mkaka and Patricia Kaliati

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

President Lazarus Chakwera has officially opened the Blantyre International Cancer Centre, The private health facility, has been constructed by the Thomson and Barbara Mpinganjira Foundation